• Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Voters Send Three New Delegates to Annapolis from the UpCounty

The results of Tuesday’s election will send three new Delegates to the Maryland Legislature from the three UpCounty districts; unsurprisingly, all three are Democrats just like the six other Delegates and three State Senators elected on Tuesday.

It was another clean sweep for the local legislative slate of candidates in District 14, District 15, and District 39.

It is District 39, which serves most of Germantown and Montgomery Village, which will have two new faces. The new faces are Delegates-elect Gabriel Acevero and Lesley Lopez, who join incumbent Kirill Reznik. Avevero led all vote getters with 24,210 votes, followed by Lopez with 23,455, and Reznik with 21,372. They were opposed by just one GOP candidate Verelyn Gibbs Watson, who earned just 8,680 votes, according to the unofficial totals released by the Montgomery County Board of Elections.

Acevero made history by becoming the first openly gay Afro-Latino (and one of the youngest) elected to the Maryland General Assembly. The self-proclaimed Democratic Socialist said, "I'm humbled by the trust and confidence the people of District 39 have placed in me, and I'm committed to working every day to better the quality of life for all residents. We've led the country on repealing the death penalty, passing the Dream Act and marriage equality; and we can lead again by building a just economy and educating our children to lead it."

Reznik told supporters in an email, “The voters of District 39, chose to send me back to Annapolis for another term. And to send me back with two great new teammates and partners in Gabe Acevero and Lesley Lopez. They both have great ideas and a lot of enthusiasm.” Reznik has been a member of the General Assembly since 2007.

Acevero and Lopez will take seats vacated by Charles Barkley and Shane Robinson.

Voters also re-elected State Senator Nancy King in District 39. King defeated GOP challenger Al Phillips by more than 20,000 votes. King received 27,438 votes or 79.25 percent, while Phillips garnered just 7,146 votes or 20.64 percent. King has been serving in this seat since first being appointed in 2007. She was first elected to the seat in 2010.

In District 14, which includes Damascus, parts of Clarksburg, northern Germantown and Gaithersburg, all the way down Montgomery County’s northeastern border to Burtonsville, State the incumbent Senator Craig J. Zucker defeated Republican Robert Drozd. Zucker earned 36,632 votes, or 72.11 percent of the vote, while Drozd received just 14,120 or 27.8 percent. Zucker was appointed to fill the seat in February 2016. Previously he was a member of the House of Delegates first elected in 2012 from District 14.

District 14 Delegates to the House will remain, Anne R. Kaiser, Eric Luedtke, and Pamela Queen. The three Democrats defeated Republican challengers Kevin Dorrance, Patricia Fenati, and Michael A. Ostroff. Kaiser was the highest vote-getter with 34,322, followed by Queen with 32,709, Luedtke with 31,930. The highest Republican vote-getter was Fenati with 14,828, followed by Dorrance with 13,541 and Ostroff with 13,352.

Kaiser has been a House Delegate since being elected in 2003, while Luedtke and Queen were first elected in 2011 and 2016 respectively.

In District 15, which includes, Clarksburg, Barnesville, Poolesville, Dickerson, the southernmost portion of Germantown, Darnestown, and Potomac, incumbent State Senator Brian J. Feldman defeated Republican challenger Brian Wilson. Feldman garnered 33,878 votes, or 71.40 percent, to Wilson’s 13,536 votes, or 28.53. Feldman was appointed to the seat in 2013.

The District 15 delegation will have a new face since Aruna Miller opted to run for the Congressional seat won by David Trone on Tuesday. The new Delegate will be Lily Qi, who will join Kathleen Dumais and David Fraser-Hidalgo in representing the district. They defeated Republican challengers Laurie Halverson, Harvey Jacobs, and Marc A. King.

Dumais was the top vote-getter with 31,541 votes, followed by Qi and Fraser-Hidalgo with 30,441 and 29,793 respectively. On the GOP side, Halverson was the top vote earner with 14,123, followed by Jacobs with 12,716 and King with 11,740.

Dumais has been a member of the House of Delegates since 2003 and Fraser-Hidalgo began serving as a delegate in 2013.

Germantown Pulse has stopped production
of original content for this website,
as of Aug. 1, 2019.
Germantown Pulse continues to provide news and information from other local source through links on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.
Thank you to our loyal readers and advertisers for a wonderful and fulfilling five years.

Featured Posts

Germantown Pulse

Germantown, Maryland's Hometown News Source

Comments, Questions, Ideas, or Suggestions 
Please, please, please drop us an email.
Advertise with GermantownPulse 
Reach LOCAL customers email us.
Have a photo for our Around Town section?
Submit it here.
Comments, Questions, Ideas, or Suggestions 
Please, please, please drop us an email.

    Like what you read? Donate now, help GermantownPulse provide more news to the community

© 2016 by Germantown Pulse.