• Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Five More Area High School Grads Named National Merit Scholars

Five of the 28 Montgomery County Public Schools students named as National Merit Scholarship winners hail from the UpCounty area. In the latest round of awards, announced by MCPS and sponsored by universities and colleges one Clarksburg and four Poolesville high school students are among those named as National Merit Scholars.

Each sponsoring college or university selected scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. College-sponsored awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

The latest National Merit Scholarship winners, the sponsoring college or university, and their intended career fields are:

Anindita Mullick, of Clarksburg High School, will major in biochemistry at University of Maryland.

The four students from Poolesville High School are National Merit Scholars at the University of Maryland are; Eric Shen Long Qian, who will major in cell biology; Mitchell R. Fream, who will major in electrical engineering; Gavin F. Prebilic, a computer science major; and Parth R. Oza, who will major in computer engineering.

In June, MCPS announced that two other area students were named National Merit Scholars; Matthew D. Evenson, of Clarksburg High School, will major in computer programming at the University of Southern California. Benjamin M. Gherman, Poolesville High School will attend Northwestern University and is an undecided major.

Other winners from MCPS high schools include; From Montgomery Blair High School; Siddharth Taneja, University of Maryland, physics; Marissa Wang He, University of Maryland, computer engineering; Alex A. Wang, University of Maryland, materials science; Perry Z. Beamer, University of Maryland, academia; Everest C. Bloomer, University of Maryland, electrical engineering; Jacob M. Santangelo, University of Maryland, computer science; Elliot S. Kienzle, physics, University of Maryland; Arman Siddique, University of Maryland, computer science; and Christopher T. Fiala, University of Maryland, information technology.

From Winston Churchill High School; Eric C. Li, University of Maryland, computer science; George J. Tong, University of Maryland, computer science; and Liza M.