• Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Reiley and Silvestre Win Spots on November Ballot for the At-Large Board of Ed Seat

The top two vote-getters in last week’s primary election for the Board of Education At-Large seat were Julie Reiley and Karla Silvestre. The will face off in the November General Election for the spot on the Board being vacated by Jill Ortman-Fouse. Reiley and Silvestre beat out six other candidates in last Tuesday’s primary and will face each other again in November.

Reiley, a first-time candidate from Bethesda, was the top vote-getter with 37,565 votes, or 32.1 percent. She is an MCPS parent, who has been an education advocate in the County and Annapolis for many years, serving as a co-chair on the Montgomery County Special Education Advisory Committee, a vice-chair and member of the MCCPTA Special Education Committee, and on the board of the Walter Johnson HS PTSA. In the past, Reiley has been awarded the Maryland PTA Lifetime Achievement Award, the MCCPTA Special Education Committee Outstanding Parent Award, and the President’s Volunteer Service Aw