• Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Primary Results Guarantee At Least Two New Faces From District 39

The results of District 39 Primary Elections mean that there could be at least two new Maryland State Delegates from the Germantown area in the next Maryland House Legislative session.

In District 39, incumbent State Delegate Shane Robinson was defeated. The top three vote-getters were newcomers Lesley Lopez, of Germantown, Gabriel Acevero of Montgomery Village, and incumbent Kirill Reznik, of Germantown. The other incumbent, Del. Charles Barkley opted to run for one of the Montgomery County Council At-Large seats. He was not among the top voters in that election.

On the Republican side, just one candidate — Verelyn Gibbs Watson, of Germantown, will face the three Democrats for the three seats on in the District 39 delegation.

In the District 39 race for State Senator incumbent Democrat, Nancy King will face Republican challenger Al Phillips. Both ran unopposed in Tuesday’s primary.

District 39 covers area of Germantown east of Germantown Road to Seneca Creek State Park and north I-270 to Davis Mill Road along with the portions of Clarksburg surrounding the Ridge Road. District 39 also encompasses most of Montgomery Village to Woodfield Road.

Lopez, who garnered 5,241 or 21 percent of the votes, is Chief Communications Officer for Run For Something, which recruits and supports young progressives running for state and local office. She is also the former Director of Communications for the National Immigration Forum and the Congressional Hispanic Caucus.

Acevedo earned 4,951 or 20 percent of the votes, is a union representative and organizer with the Municipal and County Government Employees Organization. In this role, he represents working men and women on labor-related and workplace safety issues and lobbies for the right of workers to collectively bargain throughout Montgomery County.

Reznik earned 4,918 or 20 percent of the votes. He is seeking his third term as District 39 delegate. He was originally appointed to the post by Gov. Martin O’Malley in 2006. He was elected in 2010 and again in 2014.

Reznik serves as chairman of the Health and Human Resources Subcommittee on the Appropriations Committee. He also serves as the House Parliamentarian, and as a member of the Joint Committee on Federal Relations, Joint Committee for Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Regulations, and the Joint Committee on Spending Affordability.

Incumbent Shane Robinson received 4,773 votes. Other challengers for the three District 39 seats were Germantown’s Bobby Bartlett who earned 2,419 votes, Andy Hoverman earning 1,231 votes, and Clint Sobratti finishing with 1,107 votes.

Germantown Pulse has stopped production
of original content for this website,
as of Aug. 1, 2019.
Germantown Pulse continues to provide news and information from other local source through links on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.
Thank you to our loyal readers and advertisers for a wonderful and fulfilling five years.

Featured Posts

Germantown Pulse

Germantown, Maryland's Hometown News Source

Comments, Questions, Ideas, or Suggestions 
Please, please, please drop us an email.
Advertise with GermantownPulse 
Reach LOCAL customers email us.
Have a photo for our Around Town section?
Submit it here.
Comments, Questions, Ideas, or Suggestions 
Please, please, please drop us an email.

    Like what you read? Donate now, help GermantownPulse provide more news to the community

© 2016 by Germantown Pulse.