• Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Two Area High School Grads Named National Merit Scholars

Two of ten Montgomery County Public Schools students earning college- and university-sponsored National Merit Scholarships in the latest round of awards from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, are from the UpCounty area.

Each sponsoring college or university selected scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

The winners, their intended career fields and the sponsoring university or college are:

Matthew D. Evenson, of Clarksburg High School, will major in computer programming at the University of Southern California.

Benjamin M. Gherman, Poolesville High School will attend Northwestern University and is an undecided major.

Other winners from MCPS high schools include;

From Montgomery Blair High School; William A. Ederer, chemical engineering, Arizona State University; Rahul Jain, astrophysics, University of Maryland; Noah B. Kim, computer programming, University of Southern California; Nikita Singh, medicine, Vanderbilt University.

From Richard Montgomery High School; Alisa Gao, media, Northwestern University and Samantha I. Koretsky, physics, University of Chicago.

And from Walt Whitman High School, Rory P. Nevins, undecided, University of Chicago.