• Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Area Students Selected as Finalists for MoCo’s Got Talent Show on Sunday

There are two vocalists, one dance team, and a solo dancer all from the Germantown/Clarksburg area have survived six rounds of auditions to make the cut as finalists in MoCo Rec’s annual talent show, MoCo’s Got Talent.

Earlier this month, Montgomery County Recreation announced the names of the finalists in the vocalist, musician, and dance competitions which will be held on Sunday, May 20 on the stage at The Fillmore in Silver Spring. The annual talent competition invites all MCPS middle and high school students to audition and participate in six rounds of cuts before being narrowed down to the performers who make the final show. The show will once again be hosted by Angie Ange of 93.9 WKYS.

The finals will feature a special performance by 2017 winner Leanna Rathbun of Sherwood High School. Zac Taylor, 8th-grader at Westland Middle, was the Judge's Pick to also perform at the show.

The finalists in the vocalist competition are; Anna Wilson, an 8th-grader who attends Rocky Hill Middle School in Clarksburg. This is the second year in a row that Wilson has made it to the final show. She is the only finalist from the 2017 competition to return. She will perform “Dive” by Ed Sheeran.

Also making the finals is Rocky Hill Middle School 8th-grader, Jeanne Lubika. She will perform “Rise Up” by Audra Day.

The two other vocal finalists are Christian Maffei, an 8th-grader from Farquhar Middle School in Olney, and Kelvin Dukes, a 7th-grader from Banneker Middle School in Burtonsville.

In the Dance competition there are two acts from the UpCounty area. Clarksburg High School freshman Debanshi Chowdhury, is a traditional Indian dancer.

Also among the dance finalists are Germantown-based hip-hop dance group Danz-N-Motion, made up of members Sam Powell, Kayla Oh, and Zoe Devine who all attend Rocky Hill Middle School; Adriane Sloan, who attends Kingsview Middle School; Ellie Tsahalis, attends Hallie Wells Middle School; and Talia Panagiotopoulos who is a Clarksburg resident attending Bullis Middle School.

Also qualifying for the finals are solo dancer Katherine Sohn, a freshman at Wottoon High School. She will perform an Irish/K-pop/hip hop dance fusion. While the Paint Branch Eclectic Step Team, made up of Nelanne Bolma, Makayla Ferguson, Yemi Djayeola, Dolly Yared, Mablean Oben, Briya Stevenson, Lancie Kear and Priscilla Nornoo of Paint Branch High.