• Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

30 Local Athletes Earn College Scholarships

In separate ceremonies, both Seneca Valley and Northwest honored 30 student-athletes who have earned scholarships to continue their athletic careers in colleges or universities.

On Friday, Seneca Valley honored 15 student-athletes. “We are here to celebrate and congratulate these 15 young men and women,” said Seneca Valley Athletic Director Jesse Irvin. “All 15 are exemplary examples of what a Screaming Eagle student-athlete should be. Their hard work in the classroom, and on the playing surfaces, has afforded them the ability to earn such a prestigious award.”

Northwest held a similar ceremony on Wednesday afternoon, at which the school also honored 15 student-athletes. “We couldn’t be prouder of these student-athletes, each year the number of students from Northwest earning athletic scholarships gets larger and larger,” said Northwest Principal Lance Dempsey. “I want to thank the parents of these athletes and their coaches for the hard work, and extend my heartfelt congratulations to each and every one of you.”

Seneca Valley honored 15 athletes, three swimmers, one boys soccer player, four members of track and field team, and seven members of the football team.

While Northwest’s 15 athletes, included two members of the track team, three girls from the soccer team, one member of the boys soccer team, five football players, two volleyball players, one swimmer, one field hockey player, and one member of the softball team.

Those athletes earning college scholarships from Seneca Valley High School swim and dive team included Grayson Blanchard who will attend McDaniel College, Elijah David McCabe, who will attend Messiah College, and Birgitt Elaine O’Connor, attending Florida Institute of Technology.

From the boys’ soccer team, Seneca Valley honored Andy Diaz, who will continues his soccer career at Stevens Institute of Technology.

Screaming Eagles Track and Field athletes earning scholarships include; Taylor Baily who will attend St. Francis University; Kenna Blue attending Salisbury University, HelnSarah Penda attending Townson University, and Zae Wright, who will attend Kutztown University.

The seven members of the Seneca Valley Football team earning scholarships include, Lee Cortez Chase-Ervin who will continue to play at Old Dominion University; and Quantay Person, who will attend Morthland College. Two members of the Seneca football team will be attending Shepard University, Antonio Fox and Michael Hite, while three players will continue playing football at Wesley University, they are James Chase, Michael Hoffman-Hackett, and Kendall Pinales.

While not at the signing ceremony, Seneca Valley’s senior basketball player Quentin Twyman announced via Twitter late last week that he would continue to play while attending St. Mary’s College of Maryland.

Northwest’s 15 student-athletes earning scholarships to continue their athletic careers include two members of the Track Team, Shyeim Wright, who will run track at the University of Pittsburgh, and Branson Odour, who will continue his career at Salisbury State University.

Three members of the Lady Jags soccer team earned scholarships. Andrea Rodriquez will play at Mount Saint Mary’s University, Hannah Crook will play at Clark University, and Brooke Wallmark will play at Gettysburg University. On the boys’ side, Emil Owusu will continue to play at American University.

Five members of the two-time state champion Jags football team will continue their football careers at the next level. Martin Foray will attend St. Francis University. Latif Mahamadou is perhaps going the farthest from Germantown as he attends Jamestown University in North Dakota. Davino Frazier will attend East Stroudsburg University. Two Jags will play at Stevenson University on scholarship, they are Mervin Janet and Tyrell Richardson.

Northwest head football Coach Michael Neubeiser also recognized Ibrahim Konate who will be going playing at Norfolk State next year.

Northwest will also send two members of the Maryland State Champion Volleyball team on the play at the next level; Emma Liller will play at Fairleigh Dickinson University and Biamba Tshitenge will play at Frostburg State University.

From the Northwest Swim team, Samantha Bischoff, will join Screaming Eagle Birgitt O’Connor at the Florida Institute of Technology.

Two more Lady Jags will continue their playing careers; Kyna Robinson will continue to play field hockey at the next level for Limestone College and Sydney Salgado will play softball for Notre Dame University of Maryland.


Top: Northwest’s 15 scholar-athletes sign their symbolic letters of intent to continue their athletic careers at the next level.

Next: Lee Cortez Chase-Ervin during his playing days at Seneca Valley. He will continue his football career while studying at Old Dominion University. He was one of 15 scholar-athletes from Seneca Valley recently honored for earning scholarships.

Photos by Germantown Pulse.


Germantown Pulse has stopped production
of original content for this website,
as of Aug. 1, 2019.
Germantown Pulse continues to provide news and information from other local source through links on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.
Thank you to our loyal readers and advertisers for a wonderful and fulfilling five years.

Featured Posts

Germantown Pulse

Germantown, Maryland's Hometown News Source

Comments, Questions, Ideas, or Suggestions 
Please, please, please drop us an email.
Advertise with GermantownPulse 
Reach LOCAL customers email us.
Have a photo for our Around Town section?
Submit it here.
Comments, Questions, Ideas, or Suggestions 
Please, please, please drop us an email.

    Like what you read? Donate now, help GermantownPulse provide more news to the community

© 2016 by Germantown Pulse.