• Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

BOE Forwards Potential Names for New Clarksburg/Damascus Middle School

At the regular meeting of the Montgomery County Board of Education on Tuesday, Feb. 9, the Board began the process for officially naming the new Clarksburg/Damascus middle school.

The Board has put forth four possible names for the new middle school which is slated to open in August of 2016. The four names, which the Board submitted for consideration in order of priority are; Dr. Alan Cheung, Mr. James H. Daugherty, Dr. Michael Doran, and Dr. Paul Vance.

Dr. Alan Cheung was the first Asian-American on the Montgomery County Board of Education, where he served from 1990 to 1998.

Mr. James H. Daugherty was the first African-American to serve on the Montgomery County Board of Education. He served from 1970 to 1974. He also received a Bronze Star for his service in World War II. He died in January of 2015.

Dr. Michael Doran is the much-beloved principal of Thomas S. Wootton High School in Rockville, who passed away suddenly in August of 2015. Doran served as principal of Wootton for 12 years. He had worked for Montgomery County Public Schools since 1997, also serving as principal of Thomas W. Pyle Middle School.

Dr. Paul L. Vance was the former Superintendent of Montgomery County Public Schools. Vance served as MCPS superintendent from 1991 to 1999. He retired after eight years at the top post. He was the school system’s first black superintendent. He served MCPS from 1977 to 1999, first as Area Associate Superintendent and then as Deputy Superintendent of Schools until taking over the top spot in 1991.

According to the Board’s press release, the principal of the new school will lead the school naming process, which will involve a group of community members. The new principal, Dr. Barbara A. Woodard, was appointed by the BOE in November. She is currently assistant principal at Robert Frost Middle School in Rockville.

The naming committee may consider the Board’s suggestions and also consider other names. The final responsibility for officially naming a school building rests with the Board of Education.

The school is in the process of being built at 11701 Little Seneca Parkway in Clarksburg is set to open in August for the 2016-2017 school year.

The new school will be populated by students currently attending Wilson Wims Elementary School and Cedar Grove Elementary School. Fifth-grade students currently attending Wims and Cedar Grove elementary schools will be the first class to attend Clarksburg/Damascus Middle School for all three years of middle school.

Caption: The new Clarksburg/Damascus middle school under construction on Little Seneca Parkway.

Photo by Germantown Pulse.

#germantown #MCPS

Germantown Pulse has stopped production
of original content for this website,
as of Aug. 1, 2019.
Germantown Pulse continues to provide news and information from other local source through links on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.
Thank you to our loyal readers and advertisers for a wonderful and fulfilling five years.

Featured Posts

Germantown Pulse

Germantown, Maryland's Hometown News Source

Comments, Questions, Ideas, or Suggestions 
Please, please, please drop us an email.
Advertise with GermantownPulse 
Reach LOCAL customers email us.
Have a photo for our Around Town section?
Submit it here.
Comments, Questions, Ideas, or Suggestions 
Please, please, please drop us an email.

    Like what you read? Donate now, help GermantownPulse provide more news to the community

© 2016 by Germantown Pulse.