• Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

Members of Women's World Cup Championship Team to Play in Germantown

Spirit v Thorns  2014-2.jpg

In the next month, 11 members of the United States Women’s National Team that just won the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup will be playing in Germantown.

Members of the United States Women’s National Soccer team are still relishing their victory in the Women’s World Cup and are being honored with a ticker-tape parade in New York City. On Friday, they will be riding floats up Broadway, but eight days later some will be back on the field here in Germantown.

The Maryland SoccerPlex is preparing for the next time Ali Krieger, Ashlyn Harris, Megan Rapinoe, and Hope Solo will be back playing soccer. The Washington Spirit, of the National Women’s Soccer League, will host the Seattle Reign on Saturday, July 18. The four members of the USWNT will back with their club teams, Krieger and Harris with the Spirit and Rapinoe and Solo with the Reign.

On Wednesday, the Washington Spirit announced that additional reserve tickets for the next home game against the Reign were released for public purchase.

"It's been a very busy past couple of days," said Spirit director of ticket sales Rob Bartlett told ESPN earlier this week. "We usually reserve 50 field-level seats for our games and we've twice already had to release more of those seats for sale."

there will be other stars from the Women’s World Cup playing as well. Indeed, there were 194 NWSL players that made appearances in the 2015 Women’s World Cup (155 starters and 39 substitutes). While not all 194 will be playing in Germantown next week, many will be playing in the Maryland SoccerPlex in the coming weeks as the Spirit will host three straight Saturday home games, on July 18, July 25 and Aug. 1.

Spirit v FCKC 4-18-189.jpg

The Spirit has two members of the Women’s World Cup Champion U.S. team – defender Ali Krieger and goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris. The Spirit has three players on the roster who scored in the 2015 World Cup for other nations. The goal scorers are midfielder Veronica Perez (Mexico), forward Francisca Ordega (Nigeria), forward Ngozi Okobi (Nigeria) all of which scored goals in the World Cup tournament. Other members of the Sp