• Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page

County Seeks Residents to Serve on Rapid Transit System Corridor Advisory Committees


By Kevin O'Rourke

Montgomery County Department of Transportation is looking for residents and businesses to serve on the county’s Rapid Transit System Corridor Advisory Committees. These committees are part of the Montgomery County Department of Transportation's and the State of Maryland's commitment to developing a Bus Rapid Transit System in Montgomery County.

These committees will provide area residents, businesses, community organizations and others with the opportunity to participate in the Bus Rapid Transit System planning process. By working with engineers, architects, land use professionals, and planners, these committees will advise MCDOT and the State in the decision process related to: General BRT concept designs, BRT study assumptions, transit access and operations, coordination with other modes, public involvement planning, and community needs.

Four major corridors in Montgomery County will be studied over the next two years. The four corridors have been divided into seven segments, with each segment assigned to a Corridor Advisory Committee.

Residents and business can nominate themselves for these positions, to do so individuals are asked to fill out an online form. To maximize participation and maintain manageable meetings, each committee will usually have up to 40 members. Once the committee members are selected, they will be notified about member orientation. Nominations will be accepted until Nov. 21.

The Countywide Transit Corridor master plan includes recommendations for a bus rapid transit (BRT) network throughout Montgomery County that will improve accessibility and mobility on county roads. The 102-mile BRT network would comprise 10 corridors and the TransCorridor Cities Transitway, which was proposed by the State of Maryland, and expand the right-of-way for the CSX Metropolitan Branch to allow for enhanced MARC commuter rail service. It also designates 24 additional Bicycle–Pedestrian Priority Areas–throughout the county.